Aligning clouds by picking points

Feel free to ask any question here
isharp

Aligning clouds by picking points

Post by isharp »

Hello, I am very new to this program. I am in orthodontic residency and doing my master's research using this program on before and after tooth movement. I have 2 scans of teeth I have to align. I need to align only posterior teeth as only anterior teeth were moved with brackets. I watched tutorial online and were trying to pick points for alignment but it does not let me pick the points. I turned "to align" cloud off to first pick points on my "reference cloud" but no matter how much I zoom in, change radius, or click on it, no point can be selected :( It just does select any points! Please help!
daniel
Site Admin

Re: Aligning clouds by picking points

Post by daniel »

Which version are you using? Make sure to use the latest one (2.9 or even better 2.10.alpha).

And you shouldn't use the sphere detection mode (with the radius).
Daniel, CloudCompare admin
isharp

Post by isharp »

Hi Daniel,

thank you so much, your comment helped me to figure it out. Now, is there a way to align 2 point clouds by registering them automatically with point sampling instead of manually picking the points if I want just the posterior teeth to register and not the anterior ones. And what would be the best way to measure anterior tooth movement from original to final position in terms of the facial/lingual, mesial/distal and torque movements? I was thinking to maybe pick 3 points on the facial of each anterior tooth on the before and after models and then see how those points changed... or maybe directly measure from initial to the final point, but, then, how do I know if I am picking the same point? Is there a better way to do that? Thank you!
daniel
Site Admin

Post by daniel »

Well, automatic registration is indeed possible. See: http://www.cloudcompare.org/doc/wiki/in ... ?title=ICP.